1869 The foundation of the club and the beginnings for all things. For many years they met in rooms at the Royal Hotel on Stanley Road. and the beginnings for all things. For many years they met in rooms at the Royal Hotel on Stanley Road.
1885 A.F.Macfie wins The Amateur Championship. Recognised as the first Amateur Championship, a tournament conceived and organised by Royal Liverpool Golf Club.
1890 John Ball wins The Amateur Championship. The Great Hoylake amateur wins his second Amateur Championship on his home course. In the same year he would become the first Englishman and amateur to win The Open at Prestwick.
1895 The new clubhouse, very much as it is today.
1896 The Ladies Amateur Championship
Amy Pascoe beats fellow Englishwoman Lena Thomson 3&2 in the fourth playing of the event and the first time it was played at Hoylake.
1897 The Open Championship 
On his home course Harold Hilton claims his second Open win as an amateur, defeating a very strong field of professionals including the Great Triumvirate of Harry Vardon, J.H. Taylor and James Braid.
1902 The first ever International Match
Scotland defeat England. The inaugural match which would in time become The Home Internationals.
1907 The Open Championship
The Frenchman Arnaud Massy becomes the first winner from Continental Europe.
?1911 The US Amateur Championship
Harold Hilton becomes one of the very few overseas players to win the US Amateur Championship. His dramatic victory in the final at Apawamis, New York coming at the 37th Hole.
1921 Great Britain vs The United States
The first match between the two sides. They were opponents again the following year in the first Walker Cup Match.
1924 The Open Championship
The flamboyant champion Walter Hagen claims the second of his four Open wins.
1925 The English Amateur Championship
The inaugural Championship of England first played at Hoylake and won by a member of the club, Thomas Froes Ellison.
1930 The Open Championship
Victorious at Hoylake, Bobby Jones wins the second leg of the historic Grand Slam.
1936 The Open Championship
Alf Padgham wins the 1936 Open at Hoylake.
1947 The Open Championship
Won by  Fred Daly the first Irish winner of the Open here at Hoylake.
1956 The Open Championship
Peter Thomson, the Australian wins his third Open, he would go on to win five in all.
1967 The Open Championship 
Roberto de Vicenzo, the popular Argentinian holds off Jack Nicklaus to become the champion.
?1969 The Amateur Championship
Played in the club's Centenary year, Sir Michael Bonallack defeats Bill Hyndman in the final to win the fourth of five Amateur Championships.
1983 The Walker Cup
The American side celebrate success. Tied going into the final series of matches, they dominate the singles to retain the Cup.
1992 The Curtis Cup
In a thrilling finish, the women from Great Britain and Ireland regain the Curtis Cup.
2006 The Open Championship
Tiger Woods, the worthy winner of his third Open Championship, his first on English soil.
2012 Ricoh Women's British Open
Jiyai Shin dominates the field in tough conditions to win the first Women's Open to be played at Hoylake by 9 strokes.
2013 Boys Amateur Championship
Scotland's Ewan Ferguson Wins The Boys Amateur Championship
2014 Rory McIlroy clinches his first Open Championship and third major title with a two-shot victory over Sergio Garcia and Rickie Fowler on a thrilling final day at Hoylake.